Bachelor’s degree rankings in Colorado

Best General Engineering Degree Programs in Colorado in 2026

General engineering degrees in Colorado include complete broad awards in Engineering, Design Engineering and Integrated Design Engineering. These rankings review Colorado School of Mines in Golden, CU Boulder and Fort Lewis College in Durango, preserving each program’s exact degree name.

Mines organizes the degree around design studios and an advised technical plan. CU Boulder combines a disciplinary engineering emphasis with a separate concentration. Fort Lewis uses a shared engineering core followed by general electives or a named concentration. Compare those structures before assuming the broad titles describe the same education.

A CADRE research rover with solar panels, antennas and metal wheels in a clean room.
CADRE rover at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory.Photo: NASA/JPL-Caltech
3programs
ranked

Read the research behind
each program’s place.

See the ranking
Jump to a program

Inside this ranking

How we ranked general engineering bachelor’s programs in Colorado

This selection covers three complete broad engineering bachelor’s degrees with verified curricula. It includes Design Engineering and Integrated Design Engineering as their exact named awards, and excludes first-year engineering entry and preparatory transfer programs.

Mines leads for its continuous design studio structure and explicit upper-level technical depth rules. CU Boulder follows for a defined combination of engineering emphasis, additional concentration and integrated project work. Fort Lewis provides a distinct broad core with required laboratories and general or concentration-based electives.

Read our full methodology →

General Engineering bachelor’s rankings in Colorado

Start with the degree and format, then jump to the full review. Numbers indicate our editorial order within this reviewed group.

Scroll to compare all columns

Compare the ranked general engineering bachelor’s programs in Colorado
Rank / universityDegreeStudy format
01MinesB.S. in Design EngineeringOn campus
02CU BoulderB.S. in Integrated Design EngineeringOn campus
03Fort LewisB.S. in EngineeringOn campus

3 researched school reviews

The ranked general engineering bachelor’s programs in Colorado

Each assessment explains the curriculum, the student it suits and the decision worth thinking through before applying.

Rank 01

General Engineering ranking

Colorado School of Mines

B.S. in Design Engineering

Golden, CO

Semester credits
126
Study format
On campus
Program accreditation
Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET

2026–27 tuition

$19,800 · Annual Colorado resident tuition after COF

Cost basis & conditions

The undergraduate estimate covers 15–19 credits per semester and assumes the College Opportunity Fund stipend. Mandatory annual fees are $3,206 in addition to tuition. The published nonresident annual tuition is $44,790; housing, food and personal expenses are separate.

University cost & financial aid information

Mines’ Design Engineering B.S. uses an extended studio sequence to connect technical analysis with the process of defining and solving a design problem. The 126-credit curriculum includes Physical Prototyping, Problem Framing and Stakeholder Engagement, and Systems Modeling and Design, followed by a two-course capstone. Engineering fundamentals and an individually advised elective plan provide the technical foundation. Flexibility comes with explicit depth rules: students need upper-level work within a single course prefix and advanced engineering or technical coursework. The resulting award is Design Engineering, rather than a first-year engineering entry program.

Where it stands out

Consider this Golden program if you want design methods to organize your engineering education and can explain a coherent technical direction across electives. The combination of physical prototyping, stakeholder work and systems modeling can suit a student interested in how a design develops from an initial problem into a tested solution.

What to weigh

An individualized plan still has sequencing and depth constraints. Begin the three-year course plan with an adviser by sophomore year, then confirm prerequisites and availability before each semester. The Colorado resident tuition estimate assumes the College Opportunity Fund stipend and excludes mandatory fees and living expenses.

Curriculum, admission & sources

What you’ll study

  • The 126-credit degree connects mathematics, science and engineering fundamentals with integrated design studios and technical electives.
  • Required studios include Physical Prototyping, Problem Framing and Stakeholder Engagement, and Systems Modeling and Design.
  • An approved plan must include at least nine credits at the 300 level or above with a single course prefix for disciplinary depth, and at least nine credits of engineering or technical content at the 400 level or above.

Areas of focus

  • Individually advised thematic and engineering elective plan

Admission & progression

  • First-year preparation includes four years of mathematics through trigonometry or precalculus, three years of science including chemistry or physics, and four years of English.
  • Mines considers academic performance, preparation and other application factors; SAT or ACT submission is optional.
  • Design Engineering students develop an advised degree plan by the first semester of sophomore year and review course choices with their adviser before each semester.

Design & practical experience

  • Physical Prototyping and the integrated design studios require students to develop and evaluate designs.
  • The curriculum begins with Cornerstone Design and culminates in Capstone Design I and II.
  • Project work considers both engineering constraints and the people or communities affected by a design.
Rank 02

General Engineering ranking

University of Colorado Boulder

B.S. in Integrated Design Engineering

Boulder, CO

Semester credits
128
Study format
On campus
Program accreditation
Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET

2026–27 tuition

$19,070 · Estimated annual resident engineering tuition and fees

Cost basis & conditions

This Tier 3 estimate applies to incoming fall 2026 or spring 2027 Colorado resident engineering students and includes the College Opportunity Fund reduction. The $232 new-student fee, housing, meals and other expenses are separate. Tuition cohorts and residency classifications affect the applicable schedule.

University cost & financial aid information

CU Boulder’s Integrated Design Engineering B.S. combines a disciplinary engineering emphasis with a separate approved concentration. Students choose among aerospace, architectural, civil, electrical, environmental and mechanical engineering, then use at least 12 concentration credits to develop an additional direction within or beyond engineering. Integrated design projects connect the curriculum, and the senior project follows the selected emphasis. The complete degree requires 128 credits and includes taking the Fundamentals of Engineering exam. This structure makes the interdisciplinary component explicit while preserving a substantial engineering foundation and a defined disciplinary route.

Where it stands out

Consider CU Boulder if you already see a connection between an engineering field and a second area that merits planned coursework. An approved concentration can help organize that connection, while the selected emphasis gives the engineering studies a clearer technical identity than a collection of unrelated electives.

What to weigh

The concentration is an approved plan with a declaration deadline, not an unlimited second major. Check the catalog’s restrictions before combining it with another engineering major or minor. Tuition also depends on the entering cohort and residency; the stated resident engineering estimate includes mandatory fees but excludes the new-student fee and living expenses.

Curriculum, admission & sources

What you’ll study

  • The 128-credit curriculum combines an engineering core, one of six disciplinary emphases, and an approved concentration of at least 12 credits.
  • The engineering emphasis can be aerospace, architectural, civil, electrical, environmental or mechanical engineering.
  • Students declare one approved concentration by the end of the fourth semester; students entering the major later must declare by the end of their first semester in it.

Areas of focus

  • Disciplinary emphasis: Aerospace, Architectural, Civil, Electrical, Environmental or Mechanical Engineering
  • One additional approved concentration within or beyond engineering

Admission & progression

  • CU Boulder reviews academic preparation, performance, rigor and other factors in relation to the applicant’s intended major.
  • The university uses a holistic first-year admission review and does not require SAT or ACT scores.
  • The degree has its own progression rules, including minimum grades in required courses and an approved emphasis and concentration plan.

Design & practical experience

  • Integrated design projects form a sequence through the curriculum before the senior design experience.
  • Students complete the senior project requirements associated with their selected engineering emphasis.
  • The degree requires students to take the Fundamentals of Engineering exam before graduation; the catalog does not state that passing it is the graduation requirement.
Rank 03

General Engineering ranking

Fort Lewis College

B.S. in Engineering

Durango, CO

Study format
On campus
Program accreditation
Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET

2026–27 tuition

$4,164 · Resident tuition per semester after COF

Cost basis & conditions

The resident student tuition share is flat for 12–18 credits after the College Opportunity Fund stipend. Mandatory student fees vary with credits: at 15 credits they add $1,357.50 for a $5,521.50 semester tuition-and-fee total. Applicable course fees, housing and meals are separate; students must apply for and authorize COF.

University cost & financial aid information

Fort Lewis’s Engineering B.S. brings mechanical, electrical and computing foundations into a common curriculum in Durango. Circuits, thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, materials and systems and control sit alongside required measurement and laboratory work. Students then complete an 18-credit general engineering elective plan or choose a concentration in applied physics, energy systems, global and environmental engineering, infrastructure, or robotics and digital systems. Senior Seminar Design I and II form the culminating sequence. The current 2026–27 catalog lists 135–136 credits for graduation, so prospective students should plan from that catalog rather than an older department summary.

Where it stands out

Consider Fort Lewis if you want a prescribed broad engineering core with room to direct advanced courses toward physical systems, energy, infrastructure or robotics. The required laboratory sequence gives students specific experimental work to examine when comparing programs, and the general elective option preserves an alternative to a named concentration.

What to weigh

The complete degree exceeds 120 credits, making placement, prerequisites and semester loads important to a four-year plan. Required completion of the FE exam should also be included in graduation planning. Resident tuition is flat within a credit band after COF, but mandatory student fees continue to vary with the number of credits.

Curriculum, admission & sources

What you’ll study

  • The current 2026–27 catalog requires 135–136 total credits for the Engineering B.S.
  • Core study includes circuits, statics, dynamics, thermodynamics, materials, fluid mechanics, computational methods and systems and control.
  • An 18-credit block can use approved general engineering electives or one of five concentrations.

Areas of focus

  • General Engineering elective plan
  • Applied Physics
  • Energy Systems
  • Global and Environmental
  • Infrastructure
  • Robotics and Digital Systems

Admission & progression

  • Applicants who have not yet graduated may submit an unofficial high-school transcript; graduates provide an official transcript.
  • Recommended Colorado preparation includes four years each of mathematics and English; the college considers preparation among several admission factors.
  • The college encourages applicants with a GPA below 3.0 to submit a personal statement explaining their academic journey; this is not stated as an automatic exclusion threshold.

Design & practical experience

  • Required laboratories include Engineering Measurements, Materials and Mechanics, and Thermal and Fluids Systems.
  • Senior Seminar Design I and II provide a two-course culminating design sequence.
  • The degree requires completion of the Fundamentals of Engineering national exam, alongside the curriculum requirements.

What matters in general engineering bachelor’s programs in Colorado

A coherent technical plan

We examine how each broad degree imposes depth through course levels, emphases or concentrations.

Required design and experiments

Studios, laboratories and senior projects show what students must apply and test.

Accurate credit and cost planning

Current catalog totals, degree sequencing and the conditions behind Colorado resident tuition inform the comparison.

How general engineering degrees in Colorado organize technical depth

Mines’ 126-credit Design Engineering degree includes physical prototyping, stakeholder engagement and systems modeling. Its elective flexibility has limits: at least nine upper-level credits must share a course prefix, and the plan must include advanced engineering or technical work. Students develop an advised plan by sophomore year and revisit course choices before each semester.

CU Boulder’s 128-credit Integrated Design Engineering degree uses one of six disciplinary emphases and an additional approved concentration of at least 12 credits. Fort Lewis instead requires a common engineering core and an 18-credit general elective or concentration block. The current Fort Lewis catalog lists 135–136 total credits, a difference that matters when mapping a four-year schedule.

Compare studio design with prescribed experimental work

Mines connects early Cornerstone Design with integrated studios and Capstone Design I and II. CU Boulder carries integrated design projects through the curriculum before the selected emphasis’s senior project. Fort Lewis prescribes measurement, materials and mechanics, and thermal and fluids laboratories alongside its two-course senior design sequence. Ask to see examples from required courses when visiting, as those are experiences the curriculum actually promises.

Fort Lewis’s Robotics and Digital Systems concentration provides a specific direction to examine if your interests combine mechanisms, electronics and programming. Compare its requirements with mechatronics programs and with the technical choices available at Mines or CU Boulder. Adviser approval, prerequisites and available electives determine whether an individual plan develops the intended skills.

Keep the College Opportunity Fund and mandatory fees in the budget

The Colorado resident figures shown for these programs already account for the College Opportunity Fund where the university applies it. Do not subtract that stipend a second time. Eligibility and authorization matter, and nonresident students need the applicable nonresident schedule. CU Boulder also assigns tuition by entering cohort, with engineering in its own undergraduate tuition tier.

At Fort Lewis, the resident tuition share is flat for 12–18 credits, but mandatory student fees change with the credit load. Mines’ published annual tuition estimate uses 15–19 credits per semester and lists fees separately. CU Boulder’s estimate combines tuition and mandatory fees but excludes the new-student charge. Use the engineering cost guide to separate those billing bases before comparing a personal aid offer.

Questions, answered

What else should you know?

Is Design Engineering at Mines a complete bachelor’s degree?

Yes. The current catalog lists a 126-credit Bachelor of Science in Design Engineering, with required studios, technical depth rules and a two-course capstone.

How does CU Boulder combine engineering and another area?

Integrated Design Engineering students select one disciplinary engineering emphasis and an approved concentration of at least 12 credits. The concentration can be within or beyond engineering and has its own declaration deadline.

How many credits does Fort Lewis’s Engineering B.S. require?

The current 2026–27 catalog lists 135–136 total credits. Students should use that current catalog and an adviser-approved plan when estimating the time and semester loads needed.

Should Colorado residents subtract COF from the prices shown here?

No. The stated resident figures already include the College Opportunity Fund reduction where noted. Students still need to meet eligibility and authorization requirements, and mandatory fees and living expenses must be checked separately.

Keep researching

Choosing a general engineering degree

Learn what a general engineering degree covers, how concentrations build technical depth and how broad bachelor's programs compare with specialized majors.

Read the general engineering guide →

Sources & further reading

School-specific sources are listed with each program. These references support the guidance on this page.

  1. Bachelor of Science in Design Engineering | Colorado School of Mines Catalog · Checked 2026-09-06
  2. Design Engineering Major | Colorado School of Mines · Checked 2026-09-06
  3. First-Year Admission Requirements - Undergraduate Admissions · Checked 2026-09-06
  4. Cost of Attendance: Undergraduate - Financial Aid · Checked 2026-09-06
  5. Integrated Design Engineering - Bachelor of Science (BSIDE) < University of Colorado Boulder · Checked 2026-09-06
  6. ABET Accreditation | Faculty & Staff | University of Colorado Boulder · Checked 2026-09-06
  7. First-Year - Plan | University of Colorado Boulder · Checked 2026-09-06
  8. Incoming Undergraduate Cost For Fall 2026 and Spring 2027 | Bursar's Office | University of Colorado Boulder · Checked 2026-09-06
  9. Program: Engineering Major - Fort Lewis College · Checked 2026-09-06
  10. ABET accredited program | Physics & Engineering | Fort Lewis College · Checked 2026-09-06
  11. First-year Students | Admission | Fort Lewis College · Checked 2026-09-06
  12. Undergraduate In-state Tuition & Fees | Tuition & Aid | Fort Lewis College · Checked 2026-09-06