Best Electrical Engineering Master’s Programs in New Jersey
Rutgers' non-thesis ECE MS requires a technical paper approved by three graduate faculty readers. The paper substitutes for the master's comprehensive examination and accompanies thirty credits of coursework. Students need time to choose the topic, recruit readers and revise the work, so the final written requirement should be planned well before the graduation semester ends.
Our 2026 selection of electrical engineering master’s programs in New Jersey reviews the Rutgers–New Brunswick non-thesis MS, based at the engineering school in Piscataway. Students declare a specialization, meet an ECE residency-credit minimum and complete two semesters of colloquium registration. These requirements combine a structured electrical course plan with regular exposure to technical presentations.
Electrical Engineering master’s rankings by state+
Jump to a program +
Inside this ranking
How we ranked electrical engineering master’s programs in New Jersey
The New Jersey collection reviews Rutgers' non-thesis MS in Electrical and Computer Engineering. Current departmental requirements establish the specialization, course and colloquium structure. The 2025 graduate handbook provides the technical-paper review process and financial-support terms, while the application page explains preparation and required materials.
Rutgers is selected for a defined specialization and a substantial paper evaluated by several graduate faculty members. The assessment also considers ECE residency credits, cross-disciplinary approval and the timetable for selecting readers. Graduate assistantship benefits are distinguished from hourly employment when describing financial support.
MS in Electrical and Computer Engineering, Non-Thesis Option
Piscataway, NJ
Semester credits
30
Study format
On campus
Funding & assistantships
Full-time graduate students may compete for TA or faculty-funded GA positions that provide a stipend and tuition and fee remission, with health benefits for appointments of ten months or more. The department chair makes TA assignments; research faculty select GAs through their grants. Hourly grader roles do not provide those remission or insurance benefits, and continued appointments depend on performance.
Rutgers' non-thesis ECE MS requires a technical paper accepted by three graduate faculty readers. The paper replaces the master's comprehensive examination and accompanies thirty coursework credits rather than replacing them. Students declare a specialization, normally complete three core courses and three restricted electives, and earn at least twenty-one ECE residency credits. Two semesters of colloquium registration add regular technical presentations to a degree built around advanced classes and a faculty-reviewed written product.
Where it stands out
Rutgers suits an applicant who wants a structured electrical specialization with a substantial paper instead of a thesis. The paper can develop from a course project or approved special-problems work, letting students connect academic interests with a focused technical investigation and feedback from several faculty readers.
What to weigh
The paper can delay graduation if its topic and readers are arranged too late. Outside-department electives and cross-disciplinary interests must still satisfy the residency and approval rules. Teaching and research appointments are competitive; hourly grading jobs have a different compensation structure and do not carry the tuition and insurance benefits associated with qualifying appointments.
The non-thesis MS requires thirty coursework credits, at least twenty-one ECE residency credits and a technical paper, with a minimum 3.0 GPA.
Students normally take at least three core courses and three restricted electives in a declared specialization. Cross-disciplinary plans need formal approval before registration.
Students complete two semesters of ECE colloquium registration, with at least eight approved seminars required to receive credit for each colloquium registration.
Admission & progression
Applicants submit a relevant electrical, computer or related bachelor’s degree record, a personal statement, CV and three recommendations, plus applicable TOEFL or IELTS results.
The program does not specify a minimum admission GPA. Applicants should explain academic concerns and provide evidence of readiness through the statement and recommendations.
Related fields including physics, computer science, applied mathematics and other technical disciplines can be considered when applicants demonstrate preparation for ECE graduate study.
Research & project requirements
Three ECE graduate faculty readers, including the paper advisor, must approve the non-thesis technical paper. Students revise the work in response to all readers’ feedback.
The handbook recommends establishing the paper’s reading committee by the third week of the intended graduation semester.
Specializations include communications, signals and information, machine learning, systems and controls, computer and software engineering, and electronic devices and circuits.
What matters in electrical engineering master’s programs in New Jersey
A faculty-reviewed technical paper
Three ECE readers approve the non-thesis paper after the student addresses their feedback.
A structured specialization
Core courses, restricted electives and ECE residency credits guide the thirty-credit plan.
Regular technical presentations
Two colloquium semesters require formal registration and attendance at approved talks.
Writing the Rutgers electrical master’s technical paper
The ECE handbook recommends developing the paper's topic with a graduate faculty advisor early in the program. The advisor serves as lead reader and committee chair, and the student selects two additional ECE faculty readers. The completed paper must satisfy all three readers before the MS candidacy paperwork deadline. Students incorporate feedback and make revisions as needed, rather than treating the first submitted draft as the final academic product.
A paper can build on a course term paper, a course project or work completed through an approved Special Problems course. The relevant instructor may become the paper advisor. The handbook strongly recommends finalizing the reading committee by the third week of the intended graduation semester because faculty availability becomes more limited later. Discuss the expected technical depth and the likely revision schedule when agreeing on the topic and readers.
Specialization and ECE residency credits at Rutgers
The MS requirements identify specializations in communications, signal and information processing, machine learning, systems and controls, computer engineering, software engineering, and electronic devices, circuits and systems. Students generally take at least three core courses and three restricted electives in the chosen area. A cross-disciplinary plan needs formal Graduate Program Office approval before registration, so a broad interest should be converted into an approved sequence of courses.
Non-thesis students must earn at least twenty-one ECE residency credits within the thirty-credit degree. Here, residency means credits from qualifying ECE courses, rather than the student's state of residence for tuition. Students also complete two semesters of colloquium registration, with at least eight approved seminars required for each registration. These requirements preserve an electrical academic foundation while permitting approved general electives. Other course and research structures appear in the national electrical master’s ranking.
Applications and funding for electrical engineering master’s programs in New Jersey
Rutgers expects a relevant electrical, computer or related bachelor's degree and requires academic records, a personal statement, CV and three recommendations. Applicable TOEFL or IELTS documentation is also required. The program does not specify a minimum admission GPA; applicants should explain concerns in their academic record and provide evidence of readiness through their statement and recommendations. This admission policy is separate from the 3.0 GPA students must maintain for the MS coursework.
Full-time graduate students can compete for TA or faculty-funded GA positions with a stipend and tuition and fee remission. Appointments lasting at least ten months include the handbook's health benefits. The department chair assigns TAs, while faculty select GAs through research grants. Hourly grading roles do not provide those benefits, and renewal depends on performance. Evaluate the actual offer with the cost guide, read the methodology and use the New Jersey bachelor’s rankings for undergraduate preparation.
Questions, answered
What else should you know?
Which electrical engineering master’s programs in New Jersey are reviewed?+
This collection reviews Rutgers–New Brunswick’s non-thesis ECE MS in Piscataway. Students complete thirty coursework credits, a technical paper and the program’s specialization and colloquium requirements.
How many faculty members must approve the Rutgers MS technical paper?+
Three ECE graduate faculty readers must approve the paper, including the advisor who serves as lead reader and committee chair. Students revise the work to address the readers’ feedback.
What does Rutgers mean by ECE residency credits?+
The requirement concerns qualifying ECE course credits. Non-thesis students need at least twenty-one such credits; it is separate from residency used to determine tuition charges.
Do Rutgers hourly grading jobs include tuition remission?+
The handbook distinguishes hourly grader jobs from TA and GA appointments. Grader roles do not include the tuition, fee and insurance benefits associated with qualifying assistantships.
Continue your graduate research
Read the degree requirements behind each ranking
Use the school reviews to check how each program structures coursework, projects and research. Our methodology explains how we select programs and assess their fit.